48 hours in Paris

Edited copy

“We’ll just wing it.”  – A saying I’m not so partial to.

But on a recent trip to Paris, it was this unfamiliar mindset that I was forced to follow.  Now, I’m all for taking things as they come, exploring on a whim and enjoying spontaneity, but when there is a mere 48 hours in a destination, I get what some might call ‘anal’ about my planning.  I’m reluctant to waste a single second wondering what to do next.  A sightseeing nazi, I’ll make a list of all the places I want to visit and plot out a draft itinerary before even setting foot on foreign soil.

IMG_2736 copy

When I visited Paris in early May, however, the planning was left to someone else; the hen party’s maid of honour.  We had a general plan, but nothing was booked. This agitated me.

Paris

Safe to say, I couldn’t have been more wrong.  Paris, like any other city, is bursting with life, colour and adventure.  From our first stop, Pont Des Arts, where lovers’ locks litter the bridge’s railings, to the iconic Eiffel Tower, the cobble backstreets off the Champs-Élysées, the hills of Monmatre and Johnny Depp’s favourite watering hole (apparently…!), we ticked off an impressive list of attractions.  

IMG_2777 copy

Despite a few hours wandering aimlessly, the weekend panned out more jam-packed than I could ever have hoped.  The company was great, the weather idyllic and the tick-list, completed.

That’ll teach me, eh?

Check out my video of 48 hours in Paris:

Leave a Reply

