My Liebster Award

A few weeks ago, travel blogger Sam awarded me with a Liebster Blog Award.  Truly flattered, I had a read and a giggle… and then forgot all about it.  How rude. So to make it up to Sam, and to thank her for this wonderful award, I’ve finally put a little somethin’ somethin’ together….

Liebster Award

What is a Liebster Blog Award, you might ask? Here are the rules:

  • When you receive the award, you post 11 random facts about yourself and answer 11 questions from the person who nominated you.
  • Pass the award onto 11 other blogs (make sure you tell them you nominated them!) and ask them 11 questions.
  • You are not allowed to nominate the blog who nominated you!
  • Make sure the blogs you choose have 200 or less followers

11 Random Facts About Me

1 – I’ve had over seven different hair colours.

2 – I’ve beaten a Welsh man at a Welsh accent competition. While drunk.

3 – My childhood teddy bear is a Winnie the Pooh who I called ‘Win Wops’ because ‘Winnie’ or ‘Pooh’ was just too common.

4 – I’ve lived in Germany for half my life but cannot speak German.

5 – My first tattoo was a turtle on the back of my neck. I call it my ‘turtle neck’ while my parents call it ‘the unmentionable’.  They’re not too keen on it.

6 – I’ve had two car crashes, both of which have written off my cars, and neither of which were my fault.

7 – I have chronic exertional compartment syndrome in both of my calves and have to ski with my boots undone. Also, walking uphill, up stairs or running gives me cramp and I cry. Lots.

8 – I hate football and only watch rugby for the sexy legs and tight shirts.

9 – I have an obsession with elephants and my bedroom is littered with them. (Well, not real ones, obviously.)

10 – My guilty pleasure is listening to Harry Potter audiobooks. What can I say? I’m a pot-head.

My 11 Answers 

1 – What one word sums you up?  Annoying. If I had to be friends with myself, I’d probably kill me.

2 – Where would your dream destination be?  India. It has a little bit of everything; beaches, hustle and bustle, beauty, jungles, mountains, people, colour… What’s not to love?

3 – If you could only eat one type of food for the rest of your life, what would it be?  World fusion. It’s a cheater’s answer because it’s a little bit of everything, but I just can’t decide!!

4 – Give me three things on your bucket list…  Cage diving with great white sharks in South Africa, wing walking, seeing the northern lights.

5 – What is your favourite chocolate bar? Galaxy – a clear winner!

6 – If you could speak a new language fluently, what would it be? Italian. It sounds so sexy and just rolls off the tongue. Gorgeous!

7 – What mode of transport do you prefer to travel by?  I actually really like the overnight sleeper trains in Thailand. They may smell and their toilets are vile, but as least you can lie down and enjoy a beer!

8 – What’s the first song on your travel playlist?  Sweet Disposition by The Temper Trap

9 – What would be your dream job?  A freelance travel writer. Perfection!

10 – How many continents have you visited?  Four: America, Asia, Africa and Europe.

11 – What one thing would you like to accomplish in 2013?  Well it was to get a job (which I’ve finally done! J), so probably be able to afford to live on my own in London without having to borrow money from the parents. Dull, but important!

My 11 Questions 

1 – Where was your first holiday?

2 – Backpack or wheely suitcase? Why?

3 – 2 in 1 haircare or separate shampoo and conditioner? Why?

4 – Afria or Asia? Why?

5 – What is your favourite travel film?

6 – Harem pants or board shorts? Why?

7 – Guidebooks or get lost? Why?

8 – Mountain or beach? Why?

9 – Travel buddy pet-hate?

10 – Money saving top-tip?

11 – Dream destination? Why?

My 11 Nominees 

Girl About the Globe

Cosy Traveller

Silver Backpacker

Emma on Board

Journey Tom

Two One Way Flights

Globe Trotting Chillers

Scratch Off The Map

Roo Around The World

The Hungry Backpackers

Backpack n Go

3 responses to “My Liebster Award

  1. Many congratulations on the award. There are some very interesting facts there about you, especially the hair colours, wow 7!!!

    As for your response to question 10 is it North America or South America?

    Many congrats again on a well deserved award.

  2. Thanks! Yeah, seven is the number of clear colours (red, black, brown, blonde, etc) but there have been many shades in between too!

    It was to North America – Washington and NYC. But I’m DYING to go to South America. Although my current financial situation isn’t even close to allowing it! (Re: my last blog on ‘How to Beat the Backpacker Blues – grumpy!).

  3. Pingback: My Liebster Award | Roo Around The World·

Leave a Reply

